Firework Restrictions

Notice to all Springville Residents

Utah fireworks laws have changed this year allowing the purchase and use of lawful fireworks from June 23 – July 27. Fireworks can only be discharged 3 days prior and 3 days after the holiday (July 4th and July 24th). Due to the high level of fire danger, the Springville City Fire Chief is closing certain areas of Springville for the use of all fireworks from July 1st. – July 27th.

Fire Works are banned in certain areas of town; generally speaking the “no fire works zone” is the “North East Boundary” that has been outlined in years past. There are no changes to the zone this year.

Starting at Main street at 1400 North up through Millpond Drive East on 400 north and winding its way over to 1300 east and up Canyon Road including Both sides of Canyon Road from 2450 east to the City limits.

(See the boundary map)

We encourage all those in the restricted area to take their families and fireworks to any of the city parks outside the banned area to set off your fireworks.

Thank you and be safe.

Henry L. Clinton, Chief
Springville Fire Department.

The State of Utah controls the purchasing and use of fireworks in all areas of Utah. The code allows for the use 3 days before, on the day of, and 3 days after the 4th of July and July 24th holidays. Here is the code section: 53-7-225. Times for sale and discharge of fireworks.
(1) This section supercedes any other code provision regarding the sale or discharge of fireworks.
(2) A person may sell class C common state approved explosives in the state as follows:
(a) beginning on June 23 and ending on July 27;
(b) beginning on December 29 and ending on December 31; and
(c) two days before and on the Chinese New Year’s eve.
(3) Except as provided in Subsection (5), a county or municipality may not prohibit any person from discharging class C common state approved explosives in the state as follows:
(a) between the hours of 11 a.m. and 11 p.m., except that on July 4 and July 24, the hours are 11 a.m. to midnight:
(i) beginning on July 1 and ending on July 7; and
(ii) beginning on July 21 and ending on July 27;
(b) (i) beginning at 11 a.m. on December 31 and ending at 1 a.m. on the following day; or
(ii) if New Year’s eve is on a Sunday and the local governmental jurisdiction determines to celebrate New Year’s eve on the prior Saturday, then it is lawful to discharge Class C common state approved explosives on that prior Saturday; and
(c) beginning at 11 a.m. on the Chinese New Year’s eve and ending at 1 a.m. on the following day.
(4) A person who violates the time restrictions stated in Subsection (3)(a), (b), or (c) is guilty of an infraction.
(5) A county or municipality may prohibit any person from discharging class C common state approved explosives:
(a) as provided in Subsection 15A-5-202.5(1)(c); or
(b) in accordance with a municipal ordinance prohibiting the negligent discharge of class C common state approved explosives.

14,758 total views, 24 views today